Tennessee Homeschool Law – TN Homeschooling Laws
Understanding Your Rights
Knowing the requirements for homeschooling in Tennessee is one key to successful homeschooling. That is why we have provided you with specific information on homeschooling in Tennessee and helpful links to TN’s Department of Education, homeschool requirements, Tennessee homeschool laws, and legal support resources.
Also, did you know that having an accredited homeschool partner means total support and protection for you? Find out how an accredited homeschool program can give you peace of mind on your homeschool journey. Need more support? Call us to discuss our accredited homeschool programs at 800-863-1474 or request your free Homeschool Information Pack here.
Links for Tennessee Homeschool Laws
We will update our records on a yearly basis, but if any new legislation goes into effect for your state, it should be listed here.
Tennessee Homeschool Summary
If you are homeschooling in the state of Tennessee, you will need to follow these steps:
- Provide annual ‘notice of intent to homeschool’ to your local Director of Schools before each school year. It must include intent to conduct a home school and for the purpose of reporting only, the names, number, ages and grade levels of the children to be homeschooled. It must also have the location of the school, the proposed curriculum to be offered, the proposed hours of instruction, and the qualifications of the parent-teacher.
- Maintain attendance records. These must be up-to-date and then submitted to the Director of Schools at the end of each school year. And you must submit proof of vaccination and receipt of any health services or examinations as required by law. Student attendance (at least 4 hours per day, 180 days per year) must be reported to the local school district at the end of the school year.
- Take standardized testing in grades 5, 7, and 9. They may be coordinated through the local school district at no cost.
Get more info about Tennessee homeschooling in our FREE information packet.
Homeschool Resources for Tennessee Homeschool Laws
For additional information, including a downloadable PDF with a detailed analysis of your state’s homeschool laws and legal counsel, be sure to become a member of the HSLDA for a yearly fee.