Pennsylvania Homeschool Law – PA Homeschooling Laws
Understanding Your Rights
Knowing the requirements for homeschooling in Pennsylvania is one key to successful homeschooling. That is why we have provided you with specific information on homeschooling in Pennsylvania and helpful links to PA’s Department of Education, homeschool requirements, Pennsylvania homeschool laws, and legal support resources.
Also, did you know that having an accredited homeschool partner means total support and protection for you? Find out how an accredited homeschool program can give you peace of mind on your homeschool journey. Need more support? Call us to discuss our accredited homeschool programs at 800-863-1474 or request your free Homeschool Information Pack here.
Links for Pennsylvania Homeschool Laws
We will update our records on a yearly basis, but if any new legislation goes into effect for your state, it should be listed here.
Pennsylvania Homeschool Summary
If you are homeschooling in the state of Pennsylvania, you need to follow these steps:
- Submit an affidavit to your local superintendent by August 1st of each school year. Along with this affidavit, you should submit your course objectives. These are available, upon request, from your advisor for all courses taken through Bridgeway Academy. Copies of the Elementary and Secondary Affidavits can be found below. Please note that if you have a tutor sign off on your affidavit, that tutor must be providing instruction to the student.
- Teach the required subjects: Please see page 30 of this document
- Track your time. You must document that you have completed 180 days or 900 hours for elementary students or 990 hours for high school students.
- Take standardized tests in grades 3, 5, and 8. A list of the approved tests can be found here, and Bridgeway Academy offers the Stanford Achievement Test each year if you need it.
- Prepare a portfolio to present to a certified teacher by the end of the school year. The teacher’s evaluation will need to be submitted to your school district no later than June 30th. Your portfolio should contain evidence of completed school work, documentation of days/hours completed throughout the year, a record of field trips, etc.
For additional information, including a downloadable PDF with a detailed analysis of your state’s homeschool laws and legal counsel, be sure to become a member of the HSLDA for a yearly fee.