North Dakota Homeschool Law – ND Homeschooling Laws
Understanding Your Rights
Knowing the requirements for homeschooling in North Dakota is one key to successful homeschooling. That is why we have provided you with specific information on homeschooling in North Dakota and helpful links to ND’s Department of Education, homeschool requirements, North Dakota homeschool laws, and legal support resources.
Also, did you know that having an accredited homeschool partner means total support and protection for you? Find out how an accredited homeschool program can give you peace of mind on your homeschool journey. Need more support? Call us to discuss our accredited homeschool programs at 800-863-1474 or request your free Homeschool Information Pack here.
Links for North Dakota Homeschool Laws
We will update our records on a yearly basis, but if any new legislation goes into effect for your state, it should be listed here.
North Dakota Homeschool Summary
If you are homeschooling in the state of North Dakota, you will need to follow these steps:
- Maintain an annual record of courses that include the required subjects taught in North Dakota public schools and the child’s academic progress assessments, including any standardized achievement test results.
- File an annual statement of intent to homeschool with the local or county superintendent. The statement must be filed at least 14 days before the beginning of home education or within 14 days of the establishment of residency within the district. The statement must include:
- The names and addresses of both the child and the parent who will supervise the home education,
- The date of birth and grade level of the child,
- The qualifications of the parent who will supervise the instruction. (Parent must have GED or equivalent, or a level of higher education. If parent does not have a high school diploma or GED, then they must be monitored by a certified teacher during the first two years of home school instruction.)
- A copy of your child’s immunization record.
- Proof of your child’s identity (” proof of identity” means a certified copy of a birth certificate, a certified transcript, or similar student records from the previous school, or any other documentary evidence the school, licensed day care facility or school superintendent considers appropriate proof of identity.)
- Take Standardized tests in grades 4, 6, 8, and 10. A certified teacher must administer the test, and it must be given in the child’s learning environment or the public school at the option of the parent. The parent must provide the results to the local public school superintendent or county superintendent of schools. There are some ways to opt out of standardized testing. For those details, please see the HSLDA document found below.
- Keep a record of days homeschooled. Parents should be sure to educate their children for 175 days to fulfill state requirements.
Get more info about North Dakota homeschooling in our FREE information packet.
Homeschool Resources for North Dakota Homeschool Laws
For additional information, including a downloadable PDF with a detailed analysis of your state’s homeschool laws and legal counsel, be sure to become a member of the HSLDA for a yearly fee.