Nevada Homeschool Law – NV Homeschooling Laws
Understanding Your Rights
Knowing the requirements for homeschooling in Nevada is one key to successful homeschooling. That is why we have provided you with specific information on homeschooling in Nevada and helpful links to NV’s Department of Education, homeschool requirements, Nevada homeschool laws, and legal support resources.
Also, did you know that having an accredited homeschool partner means total support and protection for you? Find out how an accredited homeschool program can give you peace of mind on your homeschool journey. Need more support? Call us to discuss our accredited homeschool programs at 800-863-1474 or request your free Homeschool Information Pack here.
Links for Nevada Homeschool Laws
We will update our records on a yearly basis, but if any new legislation goes into effect for your state, it should be listed here.
Nevada Homeschool Summary
If you are homeschooling in the state of Nevada, you will need to follow these steps:
- File a written notice of intent to homeschool to the superintendent of your school district. The Nevada Department of Education provides each district with a form for the parent to use.
- The notice of intent to homeschool must be filed before beginning to homeschool a child age 7 or older, or within 10 days after withdrawal from public school, or within 30 days of establishing state residency.
- There is no need to file your intent to homeschool on an annual basis, but if you or your child changes residency, then you must file another intent with the school district.
- Prepare an educational plan of instruction to be filed with the notice of intent.
- Included in this plan must be English; Mathematics; Science; and Social Studies, including History, Geography, Economics and Government. The level of each of these subjects may be appropriate for the age and level of skill of the child, as determined by the parent.
Get more info about Nevada homeschooling in our FREE information packet.
Homeschool Resources for Nevada Homeschool Laws
For additional information, including a downloadable PDF with a detailed analysis of your state’s homeschool laws and legal counsel, be sure to become a member of the HSLDA for a yearly fee.