Nebraska Homeschool Law – NE Homeschooling Laws
Understanding Your Rights
Knowing the requirements for homeschooling inNebraska is one key to successful homeschooling. That is why we have provided you with specific information on homeschooling in Nebraska and helpful links to NE’s Department of Education, homeschool requirements, Nebraska homeschool laws, and legal support resources.
Also, did you know that having an accredited homeschool partner means total support and protection for you? Find out how an accredited homeschool program can give you peace of mind on your homeschool journey. Need more support? Call us to discuss our accredited homeschool programs at 800-863-1474 or request your free Homeschool Information Pack here.
Links for Nebraska Homeschool Laws
We will update our records on a yearly basis, but if any new legislation goes into effect for your state, it should be listed here.
Nebraska Homeschool Summary
If you are homeschooling in the state of Nebraska, you will need to follow these steps:
- Annually file a Parent or Guardian Form (Form A), found by clicking on Nebraska Homeschooling Guidelines below. Each parent must sign and file a separate notarized form affirm under oath the program of sequential instruction in language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, and health is provided.
- Submit a Parent Representative Form (Form B), found by clicking on Nebraska Homeschooling Guidelines below. This must affirm that they accept legal duties including submitting information on student enrollment and attendance, monitors, and the sequential program of instruction.
- File an Information Summary (supplemental sheet to Form B) before the date that the home school begins operation and annually after that by July 15. This file must include the following:
- A calendar for the school year indicating a minimum instruction of 1,080 hours in secondary schools and 1,032 hours in elementary schools.
- A list of all “instructional monitors” in the home school (typically the parents); including name, address, age, the highest level of education completed, names of educational institutions attended and the particular years attended, and a summary of prior teaching or monitoring experience.
- A scope and sequence for each grade level.
- For the first year of home education, a certified copy of the child’s birth certificate (or other proof as allowed by law).
Get more info about Nebraska homeschooling in our FREE information packet.
Homeschool Resources for Nebraska Homeschool Laws
For additional information, including a downloadable PDF with a detailed analysis of your state’s homeschool laws and legal counsel, be sure to become a member of the HSLDA for a yearly fee.