Montana Homeschool Law – MT Homeschooling Laws
Understanding Your Rights
Knowing the requirements for homeschooling in Montana is one key to successful homeschooling. That is why we have provided you with specific information on homeschooling in Montana and helpful links to MT’s Department of Education, homeschool requirements, Montana homeschool laws, and legal support resources.
Also, did you know that having an accredited homeschool partner means total support and protection for you? Find out how an accredited homeschool program can give you peace of mind on your homeschool journey. Need more support? Call us to discuss our accredited homeschool programs at 800-863-1474 or request your free Homeschool Information Pack here.
Links for Montana Homeschool Laws
We will update our records on a yearly basis, but if any new legislation goes into effect for your state, it should be listed here.
Montana Homeschool Summary
If you are homeschooling in the state of Montana, you will need to follow these steps:
- Notify your county superintendent of your intention to homeschool, and provide an organized course of study. Though there is no deadline for this, this should be completed as soon as possible.
- Keep accurate immunization and attendance records that can be available to the county if they should request to see them. The attendance requirements for students in grades 1-3 are 720 hours per year and for grades 4-12 are 1080 hours per year.
Get more info about Montana homeschooling in our FREE information packet.
Homeschool Resources for Montana Homeschool Laws
For additional information, including a downloadable PDF with a detailed analysis of your state’s homeschool laws and legal counsel, be sure to become a member of the HSLDA for a yearly fee.