Homeschooling in Florida – FL Homeschooling Laws
Understanding Your Rights
Knowing the requirements for homeschooling in Florida is one key to successful homeschooling. That is why we have provided you with specific information on homeschooling in Florida and helpful links to FL’s Department of Education, homeschool requirements, Florida homeschool laws, and legal support resources.
Also, did you know that having an accredited homeschool partner means total support and protection for you? Find out how an accredited homeschool program can give you peace of mind on your homeschool journey. Need more support? Call us to discuss our accredited homeschool programs at 800-863-1474 or request your free Homeschool Information Pack here.
Links for Florida Homeschool Laws
We will update our records on a yearly basis, but if any new legislation goes into effect for your state, it should be listed here.
Florida Homeschooling Summary
Homeschoolers in the state of Florida, fall under Option 1 on the HSLDA State Law document form. If you are homeschooling in the state of Florida under Option 1, you will need to follow the steps below:
- Notify the county superintendent in writing within 30 days of establishing the home education program. This is NOT something you have to do every year – just do it when you first begin your homeschool journey. When you put together this notification, make sure to include the names, addresses, and birth dates of the homeschool students.
- Maintain a portfolio of records and materials. This should consist of a log of educational activities you completed throughout the year. Include titles of textbooks, samples of writings, worksheets, workbooks, or creative materials used or developed by the student. The portfolio must be preserved for two years and made available for inspection by the superintendent or the superintendent’s agent upon 15 days of written notice.
- Provide an annual educational evaluation of the student’s educational progress to the superintendent. The evaluation must consist of one of the following:
- A Florida certified teacher chosen by the parent may evaluate the child’s progress based on a review of the portfolio and discussion with the student.
- The student may take any nationally normed student achievement test administered by a certified teacher.
- The student may take a state student assessment test at a location and under testing conditions approved by the school district.
- The student may be evaluated by a psychologist holding a valid, active license pursuant to section 490.003 (7) or (8), F.S.
- The student may be evaluated with any other valid measurement tool as mutually agreed upon by the parent and the superintendent.
Get more info about Florida homeschooling, and more, in our FREE information packet.
For additional information, including a downloadable PDF with a detailed analysis of your state’s homeschool laws and legal counsel, be sure to become a member of the HSLDA for a yearly fee.
Florida State Funding
If you have a child that struggles with a special need and you qualify for the Gardiner Scholarship (PLSA), then your curriculum with Bridgeway will be reimbursed by the scholarship. Download our White Paper or contact one of our Homeschool Specialists at 800-863-1474 to learn more about our partnership.
NOTE: Due to low funding all approved Gardiner Scholarship applicants will be put on hold until sufficient funds are available. To check the status of scholarship please call: 904.595.6831.