Colorado Homeschool Law – CO Homeschooling Laws

Understanding Your Rights

Knowing the requirements for homeschooling in Colorado is one key to successful homeschooling. That is why we have provided you with specific information on homeschooling in Colorado and helpful links to CO’s Department of Education, homeschool requirements, Colorado homeschool laws, and legal support resources.

Also, did you know that having an accredited homeschool partner means total support and protection for you? Find out how an accredited homeschool program can give you peace of mind on your homeschool journey. Need more support? Call us to discuss our accredited homeschool programs at 800-863-1474 or request your free Homeschool Information Pack here.  

Links for Colorado Homeschool Law

Colorado Department of Education Site

Colorado Homeschool Site

We will update our records on a yearly basis, but if any new legislation goes into effect for your state, it should be listed here.

Colorado Homeschool Summary

If you are homeschooling in the state of Colorado, you will need to complete the following steps:

  1. File a “Notice of Intent to Homeschool” Form. The written notification must include the name, age, place of residence, and the number of attendance hours of each child that will be participating in the homeschool program.
  2. Complete at least 172 days of instruction each year, averaging at least 4 hours a day. 
  3. Record keeping must be maintained on a permanent basis by the parent who is overseeing the program and must be provided to the school district upon request. Keep a detailed log of attendance including days and hours worked as well as any standardized testing, immunization records and course grades.
  4. Take standardized tests for students in grades 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11. Students can take a nationally standardized achievement test or a qualified person, as described in C.R.S. 22-33-104.5(3)(f), can be selected by the parent to evaluate the student’s academic progress. The results of the evaluation, whether by assessment or qualified person, must be submitted to the school district that received the written notification.

Homeschool Resources

Colorado HSLDA Reference Site

For additional information, including a downloadable PDF with a detailed analysis of your state’s homeschool laws and legal counsel, be sure to become a member of the HSLDA for a yearly fee.

homeschool information pack learning style assessment

Download and get the help you need and the right fit for you and your child.

Is Homeschooling

Right for Your Family?

Find out if homeschooling is the right educational choice for you.

Take Quiz