OK Homeschooling Laws
Homeschoooling Laws in Oklahoma
Knowing the requirements for homeschooling in Oklahoma is one key to successful homeschooling. That is why we have provided you with specific information on homeschooling in Oklahoma and helpful links to OK’s Department of Education, homeschool requirements, Oklahoma homeschool laws, and legal support resources.
Did you know that having an accredited homeschool partner means total support and protection? Find out how an accredited homeschool program can give you the peace of mind you’re looking for on your homeschool journey.
Links for Oklahoma Homeschool Laws
Oklahoma State Homeschool Law Summary
If you are homeschooling in the state of Oklahoma, you will need to follow these steps:
- Notify the school district the child resides in and inform them that you plan to homeschool your child.
- Complete 180 days of instruction and 6 clock hours or 360 minutes per day, as appropriate for the child’s age. Make sure to document your days of school throughout the year to meet the 180-day requirement.
- Start instruction at the age of 5 and continue until the student is at least 18. Oklahoma requires that home instruction follow compulsory school age laws requiring children ages 5-18 to be enrolled in school.
- It is recommended that you implement a well-defined curriculum that closely mimics required courses taught in the public school. These include: reading, writing, math, science, citizenship, US constitution, health, safety, physical education, and conservation.
Homeschool Resources for Oklahoma Homeschool Laws
For additional information, including a downloadable PDF with a detailed analysis of your state’s homeschool laws and legal counsel, be sure to become a member of the HSLDA for a yearly fee.