MO Homeschooling Laws
Homeschoooling Laws in Missouri
Knowing your state’s homeschooling requirements is one key to successful homeschooling. But each state is different. That’s why we’ve provided you with your specific state information and helpful links to your state’s department of education, homeschool requirements, and legal support resources.
Did you know that having an accredited homeschool partner means total support and protection? Find out how an accredited homeschool program can give you the peace of mind you’re looking for on your homeschool journey.
Links for Missouri Homeschool Laws
We will update our records on a yearly basis, but if any new legislation goes into effect for your state, it should be listed here.
Missouri Homeschool Site
Missouri State Homeschool Law Summary
If you are homeschooling in the state of Missouri, you will need to follow these steps:
- Maintain records. A plan book, diary, or other record indicating subjects taught and activities engaged in, a portfolio of samples of the child’s academic work, “a record of evaluations of the child’s academic progress” are all needed. Note that an appropriate daily log could satisfy proof of the subjects taught.
- Complete 1,000 hours of academic study. At least 600 of the 1,000 hours must be among one or more of the following core subjects: reading, math, social studies, language arts, and science, and at least 400 of those 600 must be completed at home.
- Optionally file to the recorder of deeds. “For the purpose of minimizing unnecessary investigations, parents may provide a file to the recorder of deeds of the county where the child legally resides, or to the chief school officer of the public school district where the child legally resides, a signed, written declaration of enrollment stating their intent” to home school within thirty days after establishment of the home school and on Sept. 1 each year thereafter.
Homeschool Resources for Missouri Homeschool Laws
For additional information, including a downloadable PDF with a detailed analysis of your state’s homeschool laws and legal counsel, be sure to become a member of the HSLDA for a yearly fee.