ME Homeschooling Laws
Homeschoooling Laws in Maine
Knowing the requirements for homeschooling in Maine is one key to successful homeschooling. That is why we have provided you with specific information on homeschooling in Maine and helpful links to ME’s Department of Education, homeschool requirements, Maine homeschool laws, and legal support resources.
Did you know that having an accredited homeschool partner means total support and protection? Find out how an accredited homeschool program can give you the peace of mind you’re looking for on your homeschool journey.
Links for Maine Homeschool Laws
Maine State Homeschool Law Summary
If you are homeschooling in the state of Maine, you will need to follow these steps:
- Submit a statement of assurance that instruction will be provided for at least 175 days annually and will cover the following subjects: English and language arts, math, science, social studies, physical and health education, library skills, fine arts, Maine studies (in one grade between grades 6 and 12), and computer proficiency (in one grade between grades 7 and 12).
- File a one-time notice of intent by September 1st with both the local superintendent and Commissioner of Education containing:
- Name, signature, and address of the parent or guardian
- The name and age of the student
- The date home instruction will or did begin
- A statement of assurance that instruction will be provided for at least 175 days annually and will cover the subjects listed above
- A statement of assurance that the parents will submit a year-end assessment
- A notice must be filed 10 days prior to withdrawing from a school to begin homeschool mid-year.
- Submit a letter by September 1 to both the local superintendent and state commissioner of education enclosing the year-end assessment and stating the intention to continue the student’s home instruction.
- Keep copies of items submitted under #1 and #2 above. They must be made available to the Commissioner upon request.
- Take and submit annual standardized tests. These can be any nationally recognized assessments, OR you can you can submit the review and acceptance of progress by:
- a Maine certified teacher
- a homeschool support group that includes a Maine certified teacher or administrator who has reviewed a portfolio of the student’s work
- an advisory board, the superintendent, appoints composed of two homeschool teachers and one school official (must be arranged before the school year starts).
Homeschool Resources for Maine Homeschool Laws
For additional information, including a downloadable PDF with a detailed analysis of your state’s homeschool laws and legal counsel, be sure to become a member of the HSLDA for a yearly fee.